Share clinical notes with patients

Clinical notes can be shared with patients to help them stay on top of their treatment under your care.

Important

To share a clinical note or tool with a patient, they must have activated their account in the patient portal. If the patient does not have an account yet, you must invite them to the portal.

Note

If you need your patient to complete a clinical tool, form or questionnaire, assign the tool to the patient.

Share a clinical note with a patient

When you share a clinical note with a patient, they can view it in their patient portal under their Health Notes. Patients must sign up to the Halaxy patient portal to view shared notes. You can also notify the patient by email when you share the note, and personalise the message first.

  1. Open the clinical note.

  2. Click the down arrow to open the note options, then select Share.

    Clinical-Notes-Share-01.png

    Tip

    Alternatively, you can right-click the note from the notes list to bring up a menu of options and share the note from there.

  3. In the pop-up, select This patient and confirm the patient's email address. (If the patient is not yet a Halaxy user, enter their email address to invite them to sign up.)

    Clinical-Notes-Share-03.png
  4. In the Message box, check the message that Halaxy emails to the patient. Edit the text, or add dynamic terms such as the patient's name, to personalise it.

  5. (Optional) To start from a saved message, select a template in Communication template. This replaces the text in the Message box, and you can still edit it before you save.

  6. Click Save.

Note

The Message box and Communication template field only appear when you share a note with a patient. You can't change the email subject, and if you clear the Message box, Halaxy sends the default message instead.

Updated

Was this article helpful?